Visitors discover the estate gradually as they travel through the maze of stone walls and meandering roads which criss-cross the upper reaches of the Saint-Emilion plateau. The château seems eternal, giving the impression of being frozen in time. Located close to the village, its drawing room and courtyard offer views over the ramparts. The pale stone of the façade reflects the soft sunlight, holding the promise of an exceptionally peaceful way of life. When privateer Jacques Kanon bought the vineyard on April 2nd 1760, he could hardly have imagined that 250 years later the estate would be globally recognised for its wine, which is ranked amongst the very finest Premiers Crus.
When CHANEL acquired the estate in 1996 they decided to invest in restoring the full potential of Château Canon for crafting Premier Grand Cru Classé wines. The vineyard, the cellars and all the buildings were given their current appearance. The latest to date is the 18th century residence, entirely restored to the highest standards by architect Peter Marino. This is no ordinary château. It is a home, a family-owned château passed down through the generations. In winter, blazing fires crackle in the hearths. In summer, lunch is taken by the ornamental pond in a sheltered garden in the shade of the holm oaks.